As with any organization, YPM Inc. has defined regulations and governing structures to ensure consistency from year to year.

Governing Documents

The governing documents of YPM Inc. include the following:

  • Our Articles of Incorporation (and associated documents);

  • our By-Laws;

  • our Standing Orders;

  • our Code of Conduct; and

  • the Canada Youth Parliament Act.

The By-Laws, Standing Orders, and Code of Conduct are reviewed annually by the Standing Orders and By-Laws Organizational Committee (SOBLOC). The committee is comprised of the House Leader (chair), the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker, and members chosen by and from Cabinet. Their recommendations for amendments are then presented at the Annual General Meeting.

The official versions of these documents can be downloaded below:


Annual General Meeting

YPM holds its Annual General Meeting (AGM) each year during the spring. All members are invited to attend and participate as voting members of the organization.


At AGM, members review amendments to the governing documents, ratify the budget for the current fiscal year, and hear the Premier's State of the Corporation address and the Speaker's Year-in-Review presentation.


Documents from past AGMs are available below for download.

Election Meeting

YPM holds its Election Meeting on the evening of the fifth day of Session to elect its board of directors.


All members of YPM have the right to nominate another member, second a nomination, be nominated themselves, and vote in the election. In accordance with provincial law, all directors must be no less than 18 years of age.


The minutes from previous Election Meetings are available below for download.