# Minutes – By-Election Meeting for the 100<sup>th</sup> Executive

## **Pre-Nominations/Voting**

### 1. Calling of the meeting to order

The meeting was called to order at 13:07 PM CST on 16 May 2021 by Deborah Tsao, Chief Returning Officer, on Zoom.

## 2. Appointment of the secretary

Article 17, Clause 5 of the YPM By-Laws reads: "Responsibility for taking accurate minutes of the meeting shall fall to the meeting chair, or their designate." Deborah Tsao appointed Nina Lam as their designate.

### 3. Confirmation of quorum

Deborah Tsao confirmed that quorum has been met and the meeting can proceed.

## 4. Declaration of proxies

Deborah Tsao confirmed that she had received proxy forms from Pearson Singbeil Montgomery, Vaibhav Varma, Charlize Medina, and Vishwa Srinivasan.

## Election of the Vice-Chairperson (Deputy Premier)

## 5. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Katherine Foster/Josephine Zhao). Carried.

#### 6. Nominations

Motion to nominate Alexa Mucyo Kayonga for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Khushee Patel/Aasiyah Khan). Alexa Mucyo Kayonga resigned from current position as Director of Procedures and accepted the nomination.

### 7. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Emily Gray/Cosette Beaudin). Carried.

### 8. Speeches from the nominators

Khushee Patel spoke in favour of Alexa Mucyo Kayonga.

### 9. Speeches from the nominees

Alexa Mucyo Kayonga spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

### 10. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

## Election of the Director of Procedures (House Leader)

## 11. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Khushee Patel/Marit Stokke). Carried.

#### 12. Nominations

Motion to nominate Josephine Zhao for the position of Director of Procedures (Ana Amarante/Emily Gray). Josephine Zhao accepted the nomination.

#### 13. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Chris Japit/Jourmae Abengoza). Carried.

### 14. Speeches from the nominators

Ana Amarante spoke in favour of Josephine Zhao.

## 15. Speeches from the nominees

Josephine Zhao spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

### 16. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

## **Post-Nominations/Voting**

### 17. Voting

The ballots were distributed and tallied via a certified online voting platform.

Alexa Mucyo Kayonga received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Vice-Chairperson.

Josephine Zhao received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Director of Procedures.

### 18. Appointment of scrutineers

Each candidate was offered the option to appoint a scrutineer to view the results. No candidates opted to appoint a scrutineer.

#### 19. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting (Khushee Patel/Ana Amarante). Carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 13:43 PM CST on 16 May 2021.

The above are considered to be a true and accurate recording of all items discussed. Please advise the recorder of any ambiguity, discrepancy, inconsistency, error or omission noted.

Nina Lam Premier  $100^{\text{th}} \, \text{Session of Youth Parliament of Manitoba Inc.}$