Minutes – Election Meeting

Pre-Nominations/Voting

1. Calling of the meeting to order

The meeting was called to order at 9:58 p.m. on December 30, 2011 by Darcy Vermeulen in room 254 of the Manitoba Legislative Building at 450 Broadway in Winnipeg, Manitoba. 57 members were in attendance and three had proxied their votes to other members for a total of 60 voters.

2. Appointment of the CEO (if necessary)

The outgoing Past Chairperson is Darcy Vermeulen, and Mr. Vermeulen was present; therefore he acted as the Chief Electoral Officer.

3. Appointment of the secretary

Article 13, clause 19 of the YPM By-laws reads: "The minutes of the Election Meeting shall be taken by the Chief Electoral Officer, or his or her designate." Darcy Vermeulen appointed Jennifer Pawluk as his designate.

4. Declaration of proxies

Mary Gramizk to Satu Bock.

Tristan Foy to Bev Fredborg.

Jessica Williams to Lauren Marshall.

5. Motion to allow visitors

Motion to allow visitors to view proceedings (Darren Haber/Andrew Jones) carried. Darcy Vermeulen reminded all visitors to not display support of any kind for any candidate.

Election of the Chairperson (Premier)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Chairperson (Alyssa Morrison/Brent Hardy): carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Bojan Pirnat (Lindsey Walker/Chris Kolmatiski): Bojan Pirnat accepted.

Nomination for Mikol Markiw (Ryan Scherbo/Mike Bagamery): Mikol Markiw declined.

Darcy Vermeulen called for nominations three more times.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Chairperson (Joey Broda/JamesVnuk): carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

Lindsey Walker spoke in favour of Bojan Pirnat.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Bojan Pirnat spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

11. Question Period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Bojan Pirnat received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Chairperson.

Election of the Past Chairperson (Speaker)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Past Chairperson (Mike Bagamery/Ben Bawdon): carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Darren Haber (Joey Broda/Stacey Schott): Darren Haber accepted.

Nomination for Brent Hardy (Mike Bagamery/Kayla Matheson): Brent Hardy declined.

Darcy Vermeulen called for nominations three more times.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Past Chairperson (Alyssa Morrison/Brent Hardy): carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

Joey Broda spoke in favour of Darren Haber.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Darren Haber spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

Minutes: Election Meeting

Youth Parliament of Manitoba

Date: 30 December 2011

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Darren Haber received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Past Chairperson.

Election of the Vice-Chairperson (Deputy Premier)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Mikol Markiw/Mike Bagamery): carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Andrew Jones (Lauren Marshall/Alex Goodman): Andrew Jones accepted.

Darcy Vermeulen called for nominations three more times.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Bev Fredborg/Miranda Lowe): carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

Lauren Marshall spoke in favour of Andrew Jones.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Andrew Jones spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Andrew Jones received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Vice-Chairperson.

Election of the Director of Finance (Deputy Speaker)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Finance (Ben Bawdon/Alex Goodman): carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Brent Hardy (Mikol Markiw/Stacey Schott): Brent Hardy accepted.

Minutes: Election Meeting

Youth Parliament of Manitoba

Date: 30 December 2011

Darcy Vermeulen called for nominations three more times.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Finance (Bev Fredborg/Jonathan Northam): carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

Mikol Markiw spoke in favour of Brent Hardy.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Brent Hardy spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Brent Hardy received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Director of Finance.

Election of the Director of Procedures (House Leader)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Alyssa Morrison/Adrienne Tessior): carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Alycia Praznik (Chris Kolmatiski/Ben Bawdon): Alycia Praznik accepted.

Nomination for Justin Shannon (Mike Bagamery/Mitchell Van Ineveld): Justin Shannon declined.

Nomination for Satu Bock (Joey Broda/Kady Evanyshyn): Satu Bock accepted.

Nomination for Kamal Dhillon (Bev Fredborg/Jonathan Northam): Kamal Dhillon accepted.

Nomination for Mikol Markiw (Justin Shannon/Kenji Pliszka): Mikol Markiw accepted.

Darcy Vermeulen called for nominations three more times.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Alyssa Morrison/Ben Bawdon): carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

Chris Kolmatiski spoke in favour of Alycia Praznik.

Joey Broda spoke in favour of Satu Bock.

Bev Fredborg spoke in favour of Kamal Dhillon.

Justin Shannon spoke in favour of Mikol Markiw.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Mikol Markiw spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

Kamal Dhillon spoke in favour of her own candidacy.

Satu Bock spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

Alycia Praznik spoke in favour of her own candidacy

11. Question period

Darcy Vermeulen explained that all questions were to be written out, signed and submitted to the CEO for approval. Darcy Vermeulen also explained that similar questions would be asked as one.

The candidates were asked a series of questions, each replying in turn with no more than a few minutes per question.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Kamal Dhillon received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Director of Procedures.

Post-Nominations/Voting

13. Motion to destroy the ballots

Motion to destroy the ballots (Ian Smith/Bill Lepage): carried.

14. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting (Kayla Matheson/Bev Fredborg): carried. The meeting was adjourned at 12:05 a.m. (on December 30, 2011.)

The above are considered to be a true and accurate recording of all items discussed. Please advise the recorder of any ambiguity, discrepancy, inconsistency, error or omission noted.