Endowment Fund

The Youth Parliament of Manitoba established our endowment fund in 2006, held at the Winnipeg Foundation. Every year, the amount paid out is entirely dedicated towards disbursing our financial aid programs to assist youth with coming to Session.

Since Youth Parliament of Manitoba Inc. is a registered charity, all donors receive a charitable tax receipt. If you would like to donate, you can do so through the following options:

1. Online through the Winnipeg Foundation

You can donate directly to the Endowment Fund online through the Winnipeg Foundation. You can either set up either a one-time donation or a recurring donation.

2. Sending a cheque by mail

You can send cheques and money orders to the following address (please note down that the donation is for the endowment fund in the memo):

Youth Parliament of Manitoba Inc.
PO Box 595 Stn Main
Winnipeg, MB R3C 2J3

Capital Campaign

In 2019, to celebrate our 100th anniversary in 2021, we launched a capital campaign to raise $100,000 for the endowment fund. The campaign was a joint effort between YPM’s executives at the time and three alumni campaign chairs: Dr. R. M. (Bob) Kozminski, Dr. Lloyd Axworthy, and Bill Blaikie.

The capital campaign was officially concluded at our 100th Anniversary Gala held on May 20, 2022. We are extremely grateful to say that the campaign was an astounding success. Having raised nearly $60,000 ($20,000 over expected donations), the value of our endowment fund with the Winnipeg Foundation was brought well past our $100,000 goal to a total of $130,000.

In alignment with our mission to engage all youth in politics, YPM is constantly striving to improve the accessibility of our programming. With a more than tripled endowment fund, YPM will be able to fund the entirety of our financial aid programs with the endowment fund’s annual capitalization starting in 2022. The capital campaign therefore represented a significant milestone that will contribute towards empowering Manitoban youth for perpetuity.

A list of the sponsors in each tier can be found below.

Speaker ($5,000)

  • Dr. R. M. (Bob) Kozminski
  • David Asper
  • Gail Asper
  • Price Family Foundation Inc.
  • Shelter Canadian Properties

Premier ($2,500)

  • Hartley & Heather Richardson
  • Maira Group Inc.
  • Patricia Chaychuk
  • Thomas Axworthy

House Leader ($1,000)

  • Dr. Annette Trimbee
  • Daniel Bubis and Jennifer Blumenthal
  • Dr. Lloyd Axworthy and Denise Ommanney
  • Gary and Gwen Steiman
  • Jerry Storie
  • Matthew Bolley
  • Reimer Express Foundation
  • Stu Olmstead
  • The Joshua Foundation (Leonard Asper)

Cabinet ($500)

  • Allan Miller
  • Birchwood Automotive Group
  • Breta Passler
  • Darren Haber
  • David and Lynn Pate
  • Ian Smith
  • James and Rebecca Kirk
  • Joseph Broda
  • Manitoba Progressive Conservative Caucus
  • Michael Urban
  • Taras Sokolyk
  • The Bill and Margaret Fast Family Foundation
  • Trevor Axworthy
  • William (Bill) Blaikie