# Minutes – Election Meeting

## Pre-Nominations/Voting

### 1. Calling of the meeting to order

The meeting was called to order at 10:16 PM on 30 December 2014 by Andrew Jones in room 254 of the Manitoba Legislative Building at 450 Broadway in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

## 2. Appointment of the CEO (if necessary)

The outgoing Past Chairperson is Andrew Jones, and Andrew Jones was present; therefore Andrew Jones acted as the Chief Electoral Officer.

## 3. Appointment of the secretary

Article 13, clause 19 of the YPM By-laws reads: "The minutes of the Election Meeting shall be taken by the Chief Electoral Officer, or his or her designate." Andrew Jones appointed Bojan Pirnat as his designate.

## 4. Declaration of proxies

No proxies were received by the CEO.

### 5. Motion to allow visitors

Motion to allow visitors to view proceedings (Mitchell van Ineveld, Seconder: Jacques de Moissac) carried. Andrew Jones reminded all visitors to not display support of any kind for any candidate.

# Election of the Chairperson (Premier)

# 6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Chairperson (Madeline Metcalfe/Ryan Sherbo): carried.

#### 7. Nominations

Nomination for Kamal Dhillon (Justine Hesselbart/Eric Siemen): Kamal Dhillon accepted.

#### 8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Chairperson (Ariel Melamedoff/Jaclyn Flom): carried.

## 9. Speeches from the nominators

Justine Hesselbart spoke in favour of Kamal Dhillon.

### 10. Speeches from the nominees

Kamal Dhillon spoke in favour of her own candidacy.

### 11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

### 12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Kamal Dhillon received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Chairperson.

# Election of the Past Chairperson (Speaker)

### 6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Past Chairperson (Cristina Mace/Alanna Flom): carried.

#### 7. Nominations

Nomination for Brent Hardy (Jacques de Moissac/Hannah Zhang): Brent Hardy accepted.

#### 8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Past Chairperson (Daniel Denton/Michael Kvern): carried.

# 9. Speeches from the nominators

Jacques de Moissac spoke in favour of Brent Hardy.

## 10. Speeches from the nominees

Brent Hardy spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

# 11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

# 12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Brent Hardy received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Past Chairperson.

# Election of the Vice-Chairperson (Deputy Premier)

### 6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Daniel Denton/Kady Evanyshyn): carried.

#### 7. Nominations

Nomination for Joseph Broda (Mitchell van Ineveld/Hannah Zhang): Joseph Broda accepted.

#### 8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Adrienne Tessier/Ryan Sherbo): carried.

## 9. Speeches from the nominators

Mitchell van Ineveld spoke in favour of Joseph Broda.

## 10. Speeches from the nominees

Joseph Broda spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

## 11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

## 12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Joseph Broda received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Vice-Chairperson.

# Election of the Director of Finances (Deputy Speaker)

# 6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Finances (Stephanie Fennell /Daniel Denton): carried.

#### 7. Nominations

Nomination for Ariel Melamedoff (Madeline Metcalfe/Yale Selchen): Ariel Melamedoff accepted.

#### 8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Finance (Deborah Tsao/Peter Chadwick): carried.

### 9. Speeches from the nominators

Madeline Metcalfe spoke in favour of Ariel Melamedoff.

## 10. Speeches from the nominees

Ariel Melamedoff spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

### 11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

## 12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Ariel Melamedoff received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Director of Finances.

## Election of the Director of Procedures (House Leader)

## 6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Mitchell van Ineveld/ Alana Flom): carried.

#### 7. Nominations

Nomination for Ryan Sherbo (Kady Evanyshyn/Jeremiah Yarmi): Ryan Sherbo accepted.

Nomination for Adrienne Tessier (Stephanie Fennell/Nolan Smith): Adrienne Tessier accepted.

#### 8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Justine Hesselbart/Taylor Cox): carried.

# 9. Speeches from the nominators

Kady Evanyshyn spoke in favour of Ryan Sherbo.

Stephanie Fennell spoke in favour of Adrienne Tessier.

# 10. Speeches from the nominees

Adrienne Tessier spoke in favour of her own candidacy.

Ryan Sherbo spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

### 11. Question period

Andrew Jones explained that all questions were to be written out, signed and submitted to the CEO for approval. Andrew Jones also explained that similar questions would be asked as one.

The candidates were asked 4 questions, each replying in turn with no more than 2 minutes to answer.

### 12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Ryan Sherbo received a majority of support on the first round of counting and was elected Director of Procedures. They all declined to have a recount.

# Post-Nominations/Voting

## 13. Motion to destroy the ballots

Motion to destroy the ballots (Mitchell van Ineveld/Jacques de Moissac): carried.

## 14. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting (Julia Minarik/Maddy Lischka): carried. The meeting was adjourned at 12:32 am (on 31 December 2014.)

The above are considered to be a true and accurate recording of all items discussed. Please advise the recorder of any ambiguity, discrepancy, inconsistency, error or omission noted.