Minutes – Election Meeting for the 102nd Executive

Pre-Nominations/Voting

1. Calling of the meeting to order

The meeting was called to order at 20:20 CST on 30 December 2022 by Nina Lam in The Golden Boy Room of the Manitoba Legislative Building at 450 Broadway in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

2. Appointment of the CRO (if necessary)

The outgoing Past Chairperson is Nina Lam, and Nina Lam was present; therefore Nina Lam acted as the Chief Returning Officer.

3. Appointment of the secretary

Article 13, clause 19 of the YPM By-laws reads: "The minutes of the Election Meeting shall be taken by the Chief Electoral Officer, or their designate." Nina Lam appointed Deborah Tsao as their designate.

4. Declaration of proxies

No Proxies declared.

5. Motion to allow visitors

Motion to allow visitors to view proceedings (Gianluca Caldarola/Emily Gray). Carried.

Nina reminded all visitors to not display support of any kind for any candidate.

Election of the Chairperson (Premier)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Chairperson (Matthew Sevigny/Jourmae Abengoza). Carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Alexa Mucyo Kayonga (Madison Jones/Ridhwanlai Badmos). Alexa accepted the nomination.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Chairperson (Adam Katz/Katherine Foster). Carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

Madison Jones spoke in favour of Alexa Mucyo Kayonga.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Alexa Mucyo Kayonga spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. Alexa chose to appoint her nominator, Madison, as scrutineer. Madison observed the counting of the ballots.

Alexa Mucyo Kayonga received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Chairperson.

Election of the Past Chairperson (Speaker)

13. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Past-Chairperson (Trinity Sperling/Harshnoor Mann). Carried.

14. Nominations

Nomination for Jacob Harvey (Jourmae Abengoza/Hawa Bangura). Jacob accepted the nomination.

15. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Past-Chairperson (Myles Cesario/Rowan Hildebrand). Carried.

16. Speeches from the nominators

Jourmae Abengoza spoke in favour of Jacob Harvey.

17. Speeches from the nominees

Jacob Harvey spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

18. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

19. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. Jacob chose to appoint his nominator, Jourmae, as scrutineer. Jourmae observed the counting of the ballots.

Jacob Harvey received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Past-Chairperson.

Election of the Director of Finance (Deputy Speaker)

20. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Finance (Prabhnoor Singh/Maximus Brydon-DuBois). Carried.

21. Nominations

Nomination for Arshpreet Gill (Sarah Fontaine-Sinclair/Sophia Upton). Arshpreet accepted the nomination.

Nomination for Josephine Zhao (Lien Huynh/Rofiat Badmos). Josephine accepted the nomination.

22. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Finance (Myles Cesario/Maximus Brydon-DuBois). Carried.

23. Speeches from the nominators

Sarah Fontaine-Sinclair spoke in favour of Arshpreet Gill.

Lien Huynh spoke in favour of Josephine Zhao.

24. Speeches from the nominees

Josephine Zhao spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

Arshpreet Gill spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

25. Question period

A 15-minute Question Period was held.

26. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. Arshpreet chose to appoint his nominator, Sarah, as scrutineer. Josephine chose to appoint her nominator, Lien, as scrutineer. Sarah and Lien observed the counting of the ballots.

Josephine Zhao received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Director of Finance.

Election of the Vice-Chairperson (Deputy Premier)

27. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Khushi Kalra/Isadora Kwoczynska-Brown). Carried.

28. Nominations

Nomination for Xiao Zhang (Jake Bell/Donovan McIntosh). Xiao Zhang accepted the nomination.

29. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Myles Cesario/Aiden Peters). Carried.

30. Speeches from the nominators

Jake Bell spoke in favour of Xiao Zhang.

31. Speeches from the nominees

Xiao Zhang spoke in favour of their own candidacy

32. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

33. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a scrutineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Xiao Zhang received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Vice-Chairperson.

Election of the Director of Procedures (House Leader)

34. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Bunny Davis-Holstein/Devin Botar) Carried.

35. Nominations

Nomination for Khushi Kalra (Myles Cesario/Matthew Sevigny). Khushi accepted the nomination.

Nomination for Charlize Medina (Feliciaa Baldner/Ridhwanlai Badmos). Charlize accepted the nomination.

Nomination for Cosette Beaudin (Pearson Singbeil-Montgomery/Rowan Hildebrand). Cosette accepted the nomination.

36. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Hawa Bangura/Uday Bhardwaj). Carried.

37. Speeches from the nominators

Myles Cesario spoke in favour of Khushi Kalra.

Feliciaa Baldner spoke in favour of Charlize Medina.

Pearson Singbeil-Montgomery spoke in favour of Cosette Beaudin.

38. Speeches from the nominees

Cosette Beaudin spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

Charlize Medina spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

Khushi Kalra spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

39. Question period

A 15-minute Question Period was held.

40. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. Cosette chose to appoint her nominator, Pearson, as scrutineer. Charlize chose to appoint her nominator, Feliciaa, as scrutineer. Khushi chose to appoint her nominator, Myles, as scrutineer. Pearson, Feliciaa, and Myles observed the counting of the ballots.

Charlize Medina received a majority of ballots and was elected Director of Procedures.

Post-Nominations/Voting

41. Motion to destroy the ballots

Motion to destroy the ballots (Trinity Sperling/Sarah Fontaine-Sinclair). Carried.

42. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting (Matthew Sevigny/Livanna Daun). Carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 23:15 CST on 30 December 2022.

The above are considered to be a true and accurate recording of all items discussed. Please advise the recorder of any ambiguity, discrepancy, inconsistency, error or omission noted.

DEBORAH TSAO SECRETARY 101ST Session of Youth Parliament of Manitoba Inc.