Minutes – Election Meeting for the 100th Executive

Pre-Nominations/Voting

1. Calling of the meeting to order

The meeting was called to order at 18:11 PM CST on 30 December 2020 by Adrienne Tessier on Zoom.

2. Appointment of the CEO

Motion to appoint Adrienne Tessier as Chief Electoral Officer (Abigaïl Theano-Pudwill/Deborah Tsao). Carried.

3. Appointment of the secretary

Article 13, clause 19 of the YPM Bylaws reads: "The minutes of the Election Meeting shall be taken by the Chief Electoral Officer, or his or her designate." Adrienne Tessier appointed Abigail Theano-Pudwill as their designate.

4. Declaration of proxies

Aasiyah Khan declared that she holds a proxy for Sunny Enkin Lewis.

5. Motion to allow visitors

Motion to allow visitors (Nina Lam/Emily Gray). Carried.

Election of the Chairperson (Premier)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Chairperson (Emily Gray/Parker McElroy). Carried.

7. Nominations

Motion to nominate Nina Lam for the position of Chairperson (David Ringham/Quirin Stetefeld). Nina Lam accepted the nomination.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Chairperson (Pearson Montgomery/Chris Japit). Carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

David Ringham spoke in favour of Nina Lam.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Nina Lam spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

Election of the Past Chairperson (Speaker)

12. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Past-Chairperson (Raj Gill/Emily Gray). Carried.

13. Nominations

Motion to nominate Deborah Tsao for the position of Past-Chairperson (Vaibhav Varma/Sean Ticsay). Deborah Tsao accepted the nomination.

14. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Past-Chairperson (Chris Japit/Emily Gray). Carried.

15. Speeches from the nominators

Vaibhav Varma spoke in favour of Deborah Tsao.

16. Speeches from the nominees

Deborah Tsao spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

17. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

Election of the Vice-Chairperson (Deputy Premier)

18. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Chris Japit/Emily Gray). Carried.

19. Nominations

Motion to nominate Marie Sutherland for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Vishwa Srinivasan/Marit Stokke). Marie Sutherland accepted the nomination.

20. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Chris Japit/Emily Gray). Carried.

21. Speeches from the nominators

Vishwa Srinivasan spoke passionately in favour of Marie Sutherland.

22. Speeches from the nominees

Marie Sutherland spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

23. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

Election of the Director of Finance (Deputy Speaker)

24. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Finance (Parker McElroy/Ana Amarante). Carried.

25. Nominations

Motion to nominate Jacob Harvey for the position of Director of Finance (Charlize Medina/Nicholas Pasieczka). Jacob Harvey accepted the nomination.

26. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Finance (Vaibhav Varma/Joseph Dubois). Carried.

27. Speeches from the nominators

Charlize Medina spoke in favour of Jacob Harvey.

28. Speeches from the nominees

Jacob Harvey spoke in favor of their own candidacy.

29. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

Election of the Director of Procedures (House Leader)

30. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (???/???). Carried.

31. Nominations

Motion to nominate Josephine Zhao for the position of Director of Procedures (Pearson Singbeil Montgomery/Parker McElroy). Josephine Zhao accepted the nomination.

Motion to nominate Alexa Mucyo Kayonga for the position of Director of Procedures (El-Shaddai Nyakiir/Aasiyah Khan). Alexa Mucyo Kayonga accepted the nomination.

32. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Chris Japit/Khushee Patel). Carried.

33. Speeches from the nominators

Pearson Singbeil Montgomery spoke in favour of Josephine Zhao.

El-Shaddai Nyakiir spoke in favour of Alexa Mucyo Kayonga.

34. Speeches from the nominees

Alexa Mucyo Kayonga spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

Josephine Zhao spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

35. Question period

A 15-minute Question Period was held.

36. Voting

The ballots were distributed and tallied via a certified online voting platform.

Nina Lam received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Chairperson.

Deborah Tsao received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Past-Chairperson.

Marie Sutherland received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Vice-Chairperson.

Jacob Harvey received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Director of Finance.

Alexa Mucyo Kayonga received a majority of ballots and was elected Director of Procedures.

Post-Nominations/Voting

37. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting (Emily Gray/El-Shaddai Nyakiir). Carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 19:50 PM CST on 30 December 2020.

The above are considered to be a true and accurate recording of all items discussed. Please advise the recorder of any ambiguity, discrepancy, inconsistency, error or omission noted.

ABIGAÏL THEANO-PUDWILL
PREMIER
99TH SESSION OF YOUTH PARLIAMENT OF MANITOBA INC.