# Minutes – Election Meeting for the 103<sup>rd</sup> Executive

# **Pre-Nominations/Voting**

### 1. Calling of the meeting to order

The meeting was called to order at 20:42 CST on 30 December 2023 by Jacob Harvey in Committee Room 254 of the Manitoba Legislative Building at 450 Broadway in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

### 2. Appointment of the CRO

The outgoing Past Chairperson is Jacob Harvey, and Jacob was present; therefore, Jacob was appointed as the Chief Returning Officer.

# 3. Appointment of the secretary

Article 13, clause 19 of the YPM By-laws reads: "The minutes of the Election Meeting shall be taken by the Chief Electoral Officer, or their designate." Jacob Harvey appointed Nina Lam as their designate.

## 4. Declaration of proxies

Sarah Fontaine-Sinclair proxied their vote to Matthew Sévigny.

Zailey Cameron proxied their vote to Miranda Celis.

Samantha Chávez proxied their vote to Adria Anha Alam.

Brie Villeneuve proxied their vote to Alex O'Connor.

#### 5. Motion to allow visitors

Motion to allow visitors to view proceedings (Matthew Sévigny/Journae Abengoza). Carried.

Jacob reminded all visitors to not display support of any kind for any candidate.

# Election of the Chairperson (Premier)

### 6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Chairperson (Lien Huynh/Julian McArthur). Carried.

#### 7. Nominations

Nomination for Xiao Zhang (Edwin Mucyo Kayonga/Gianluca Caldarola). Xiao accepted the nomination.

#### 8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Chairperson (Josephine Zhao/Adam Katz). Carried.

### 9. Speeches from the nominators

Edwin Mucyo Kayonga spoke in favour of Xiao Zhang.

# 10. Speeches from the nominees

Xiao Zhang spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

### 11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, a question period was not held.

## 12. Voting

The ballots were collected and tallied. Xiao Zhang chose to appoint their nominator, Edwin Mucyo Kayonga, as scrutineer. Edwin observed the counting of the ballots.

Xiao Zhang received a majority of "Yes" ballots and was elected Chairperson.

# Election of the Past Chairperson (Speaker)

## 13. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Past Chairperson (Rowan Hildebrand/Lien Huynh). Carried.

#### 14. Nominations

Nomination for Josephine Zhao (Rowan Hildebrand/Aidan Peters). Josephine accepted the nomination.

#### 15. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Past Chairperson (Adam Katz/Myles Cesario). Carried.

# 16. Speeches from the nominators

Rowan Hildebrand spoke in favour of Josephine Zhao.

# 17. Speeches from the nominees

Josephine Zhao spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

# 18. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, a question period was not held.

## 19. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected, and tallied. Josephine Zhao chose to appoint their nominator, Rowan Hildebrand, as scrutineer. Rowan observed the counting of the ballots.

Josephine Zhao received a majority of "Yes" ballots and was elected Past Chairperson.

# Election of the Director of Finance (Deputy Speaker)

### 20. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Finance (Ridhwan Badmos/Madison Jones). Carried.

#### 21. Nominations

Nomination for Charlize Medina (Miles Kwoczynska-Brown/Bisman Randhawa-Bajwa). Charlize accepted the nomination.

#### 22. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Finance (Myles Cesario/Jourmae Abengoza). Carried.

### 23. Speeches from the nominators

Miles Kwoczynska-Brown spoke in favour of Charlize Medina.

# 24. Speeches from the nominees

Charlize Medina spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

# 25. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, a question period was not held.

# 26. Voting

The ballots were collected and tallied. Charlize Medina chose to appoint their nominator, Miles Kwoczynska-Brown, as scrutineer. Miles observed the counting of the ballots.

Charlize Medina received a majority of "Yes" ballots and was elected Director of Finance.

# **Election of the Vice-Chairperson (Deputy Premier)**

# 27. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Madison Jones/Adam Katz). Carried.

#### 28. Nominations

Nomination for Madison Jones (Trinity Sperling/Rowan Hildebrand). Madison Jones accepted the nomination.

Election Meeting Minutes Youth Parliament of Manitoba Inc., 103<sup>rd</sup> Session 30 December 2023

#### 29. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Matthew Sévigny/Myles Cesario). Carried.

### 30. Speeches from the nominators

Trinity Sperling spoke in favour of Madison Jones.

#### 31. Speeches from the nominees

Madison Jones spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

#### 32. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, a question period was not held.

### 33. Voting

The ballots were collected and tallied. Madison Jones chose to appoint their nominator, Trinity Sperling, as scrutineer. Trinity observed the counting of the ballots.

Madison Jones received a majority of "Yes" ballots and was elected Vice-Chairperson.

# Election of the Director of Procedures (House Leader)

# 34. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Josephine Zhao/Jourmae Abengoza). Carried.

#### 35. Nominations

Nomination for Jourmae Abengoza (Myles Cesario/Adria Alam). Jourmae accepted the nomination.

#### 36. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Trinity Sperling/Matthew Sévigny). Carried.

### 37. Speeches from the nominators

Myles Cesario spoke in favour of Jourmae Abengoza.

## 38. Speeches from the nominees

Journae Abengoza spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

#### 39. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, a question period was not held.

### 40. Voting

The ballots were collected and tallied. Jourmae Abengoza chose to appoint their nominator, Myles Cesario, as scrutineer. Myles observed the counting of the ballots.

Journae Abengoza received a majority of ballots and was elected Director of Procedures.

# **Post-Nominations/Voting**

### 41. Motion to destroy the ballots

Motion to destroy the ballots (Trinity Sperling/Matthew Sévigny). Carried.

# 42. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting (Madison Jones/Lien Huynh). Carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 22:05 CST on 30 December 2023.

The above are considered to be a true and accurate recording of all items discussed. Please advise the recorder of any ambiguity, discrepancy, inconsistency, error, or omission noted.

Nina Lam Secretary  $103^{\text{RD}} \; \text{Session of Youth Parliament of Manitoba Inc.}$