# Minutes – Election Meeting for the 96<sup>th</sup> Executive

# **Pre-Nominations/Voting**

### 1. Calling of the meeting to order

The meeting was called to order at 10:08 PM on 30 December 2016 by Kamal Dhillon in room 254 of the Manitoba Legislative Building at 450 Broadway in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

## 2. Appointment of the CEO (if necessary)

The outgoing Past Chairperson is Kamal Dhillon, and Kamal Dhillon was present; therefore Kamal Dhillon acted as the Chief Electoral Officer.

### 3. Appointment of the secretary

Article 13, clause 19 of the YPM By-laws reads: "The minutes of the Election Meeting shall be taken by the Chief Electoral Officer, or his or her designate." Kamal Dhillon appointed Brent Hardy as their designate.

### 4. Declaration of proxies

Adrienne Tessier's vote was proxied to Joseph Broda (*Note: Adirenne Tessier left the meeting after the election of the Vice-Chairperson*) Eric Shinnie's vote was proxied to Ryan Sherbo Trent Brownlee's vote was proxied to Minsoo Kim Norbert Swain's vote was proxied to Deborah Tsao Danielle Andrews' vote was proxied to Shania Pruden Cody Rex's vote was proxied to Jessica Eblie (*Note: Cody Rex left the meeting after the election of the Director of Finance*)

### 5. Motion to allow visitors

Motion to allow visitors to view proceedings (Ariel Melamedoff/Joseph Broda) carried. Kamal Dhillon reminded all visitors to not display support of any kind for any candidate.

## 6. Motion to elect Deputy-Chairperson (Deputy Premier) first

Motion to allow the election of the 96<sup>th</sup> Deputy Premier first, prior to the election of the Chairperson (permier) (Joseph Broda/Ariel Melamedoff) Carried.

# Election of the Vice-Chairperson (Deputy Premier)

### 6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Michael Kvern/Gordon Parisian) Carried.

### 7. Nominations

Nomination for Adrienne Tessier (Gordon Parisian/Silke Gorneweg) Adrienne Tessier accepted.

Election Meeting Minutes Youth Parliament of Manitoba Inc. ,  $96^{\rm th}$  Session 30 December 2016

#### 8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Ariel Melamedoff/Danielle Bohonos)

Carried.

#### 9. Speeches from the nominators

Gordon Parisian spoke in favor of Adrienne Tessier.

#### 10. Speeches from the nominees

Adrienne Tessier spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

#### 11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

### 12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Adrienne Tessier received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Vice-Chairperson.

# Election of the Chairperson (Premier)

#### 6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Chairperson (Anna Binder/Ronald Gamblin). Carried.

### 7. Nominations

Nomination for Ariel Melameoff (Ronald Gamblin/Leslie Kretai) Ariel Melamedoff accepted.

#### 8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Chairperson (Anna Binder/Jessica Eblie) Carried.

#### 9. Speeches from the nominators

Ronald Gamblin spoke in favor of Ariel Melamedoff.

#### 10. Speeches from the nominees

Ariel Melamedoff spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

#### 11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

### 12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Ariel Melamedoff received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Chairperson.

Election Meeting Minutes Youth Parliament of Manitoba Inc. ,  $96^{\rm th}$  Session 30 December 2016

# Election of the Past Chairperson (Speaker)

## 6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Past Chairperson (Minsoo Kim/Nihal Bhullar) Carried.

## 7. Nominations

Nomination for Joseph Broda (Dylan Fijal/Taren Andersen). Joseph Broda accepted.

### 8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Past Chairperson (Alexander Bastin/Abigail Theano-Pudwill)

Carried.

### 9. Speeches from the nominators

Dylan Fijal spoke passionately in favour of Joseph Broda..

### 10. Speeches from the nominees

Joseph Broda spoke in favour of theirr own candidacy.

### 11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

## 12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Joseph Broda received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Past Chairperson.

# Election of the Director of Finances (Deputy Speaker)

### 6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Finances (Nina Lam/Danielle Bohonos) Carried.

### 7. Nominations

Nomination for Jessica Eblie (Cody Rex/Leslie Kretai) Jessica Eblie accepted. Nomination for Deborah Tsao (Michael Kvern/Danielle Bohonos). Deborah Tsao accepted.

### 8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Finance (Abigail Theano-Pudwill/Gordon Parisian) Carried.

#### 9. Speeches from the nominators

Cody Rex spoke in favor of Jessica Eblie. Michael Kvern spoke in favor of Deborah Tsao

#### 10. Speeches from the nominees

Deborah Tsao spoke in favor of their own candidacy Jessica Eblie spoke in favor of their own candidacy.

#### 11. Question period

A 15-minute Question Period was held.

#### 12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a scrutineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Deborah Tsao received a majority of ballots and was elected Director of Finances.

## Election of the Director of Procedures (House Leader)

#### 6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Ronald Gamblin/Michael Kvern) Carried.

#### 7. Nominations

Nomination for Aidan Prenovault (Brent Tichon/Leslie Kretai); Aidan Prenovault accepted. Nomination for Abigail Theano-Pudwill (Daniel Denton/Victoria Nwabuisi)

#### 8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Shania Pruden/Michael Kvern) Carried.

#### 9. Speeches from the nominators

Brent Tichon spoke in favor of Aidan Prenovault's candidacy. Daniel Denton spoke in favor of Abigail Theano-Pudwill's candidacy

#### 10. Speeches from the nominees

Aidan prenovault spoke in favor of their own candidacy Abigail Theano-Pudwill spoke in favor of their own candidacy

#### 11. Question period

A 15-minute Question Period was held

#### 12. Voting

Election Meeting Minutes Youth Parliament of Manitoba Inc., 96th Session 30 December 2016

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a scrutineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Abigail Theano-Pudwill received a majority of ballots and was elected Director of Procedures.

# **Post-Nominations/Voting**

## 13. Motion to destroy the ballots

Motion to destroy the ballots (Nihal Bhullar/Reagan Li) Carried.

## 14. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting (Adam Filby/Nihal Bhullar) Carried. The meeting was adjourned at 12:33 am on 31 December 2016.

The above are considered to be a true and accurate recording of all items discussed. Please advise the recorder of any ambiguity, discrepancy, inconsistency, error or omission noted.

ADRIENNE TESSIER DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON 96<sup>th</sup> SESSION OF YOUTH PARLIAMNT OF MANITOBA INC