Minutes – Election Meeting for the 103rd Executive

Pre-Nominations/Voting

1. Calling of the meeting to order

The meeting was called to order at 8:19PM CST on 30 December 2024 by Josephine Zhao in Room 254 of the Manitoba Legislative Building at 450 Broadway in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

2. Appointment of the CRO (if necessary)

The outgoing Past Chairperson is Josephine Zhao, and Josephine Zhao was present; therefore Josephine Zhao acted as the Chief Returning Officer.

3. Appointment of the Secretary

Article 18, clause 8b of the YPM By-laws reads: "The minutes of the Election Meeting shall be taken by the Secretary", and Article 18, clause 8 reads: "The Speaker of the Senate shall act as Secretary". Jacob Harvey is the current Speaker of the Senate and present, therefore Jacob Harvey acted as the Secretary.

4. Declaration of proxies

No proxies declared.

5. Motion to allow visitors

Motion to allow visitors to view proceedings (Matthew Sevigny/Madison Jones). Carried.

Josephine reminded all visitors to not display support of any kind for any candidate.

Election of the Chairperson (Premier)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Chairperson (Jourmae Abengoza/Miles Kwocyznka-Brown). Carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Charlize Medina (Aiden Peters/Harisharn Bahra). Charlize Medina accepted the nomination.

Nomination for Ridhwanlai Badmos (Edwin Mugisha Kayonga/Marty Fleischaker). Ridhwanlai Badmos accepted the nomination.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Chairperson (Trinity Sperling/Julian McArthur). Carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

Aiden Peters spoke in favour of Charlize Medina. Edwin Mugisha Kayonga spoke in favour of Ridhwanlai Badmos.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Charlize Medina spoke in favour of their own candidacy. Ridhwanlai Badmos spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

11. Question period

A 10-minute Question Period was held, starting at 8:42PM, and completed at 8:52PM.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. (Charlize Medina chose to appoint Aiden Peters, as scrutineer. Aiden Peters observed the counting of the ballots), (Ridwanlai chose to appoint Edwin Mugisha Kayonga, as scrutineer. Edwin Mugisha Kayonga observed the counting of the ballots).

Charlize Medina received a majority of the ballots and was elected Chairperson. Charlize (65), Ridhwanlai (8), Void (12)

Election of the Past Chairperson (Speaker)

13. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Past-Chairperson (Matthew Sevigny/Hawanatu Bangura). Carried.

14. Nominations

Nomination for Xiao Zhang (Clyron Hernandez/Annette Colbert). Xiao Zhang accepted the nomination.

15. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Past-Chairperson (Eddy Paez/Sarah Fontaine-Sinclair). Carried.

16. Speeches from the nominators

Clyron Elijah Hernandez spoke in favour of Xiao Zhang.

17. Speeches from the nominees

Xiao Zhang spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

18. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, and they were a current board member, no question period was held.

19. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. (Xiao Zhang chose to appoint Clyron Elijah Hernandez, as scrutineer. Clyron Elijah Hernandez observed the counting of the ballots).

Xiao Zhang received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Past Chairperson. Yes (83), No (3), Void (0).

Election of the Director of Finance (Deputy Speaker)

20. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Finance (Eddy Paez/Matthew Sevigny). Carried.

21. Nominations

Nomination for Madison Jones (Emily Mann/Bisman Randhawa). Madison Jones accepted the nomination.

22. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Finance (Bisman Randhawa/Eddy Paez). Carried.

23. Speeches from the nominators

Emily Mann spoke in favour of Madison Jones.

24. Speeches from the nominees

Madison Jones spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

25. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, and they were a current board member, there was no question period.

26. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. (Madison Jones chose to appoint Emily Mann, as scrutineer. Emily Mann observed the counting of the ballots).

Madison Jones - received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Director of Finance. Yes (83), No (3), Void (0)

Election of the Vice-Chairperson (Deputy Premier)

27. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Cyron Hernandez/Miles Kwoczynska-Brown). Carried.

28. Nominations

Nomination for Jourmae Abengoza (Eddy Paez/Harbax Singh). Jourmae Abengoza accepted the nomination.

29. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Harisharn Bahra/Chigoziri Okpanku). Carried.

30. Speeches from the nominators

Eddy Paez spoke in favour of Jourmae Abengoza.

31. Speeches from the nominees

Jourmae Abengoza spoke in favour of their own candidacy

32. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, and they were a current board member, there was no question period.

33. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. (Jourmae Abengoza chose to appoint Harbax Singh, as scrutineer. Harbax Singh observed the counting of the ballots).

Jourmae Abengoza received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Vice-Chairperson. Yes (82), No (4), Void (0).

Election of the Director of Procedures (House Leader)

34. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Ridhwahnlai Badmos/ Hawanatu Bangura) Carried.

35. Nominations

Nomination for Lien Huynh (Loquin Warkentin/Cassidy Wolfe). Lien Huynh accepted the nomination.

Nomination for Adam Katz (Rowan Hildebrand/Erin Jones). Adam Katz accepted the nomination.

36. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Madison Jones/Azuli Solis). Carried.

37. Speeches from the nominators

Loquin Warkentin spoke in favour of Lien Huynh. Rowan Hildebrand spoke in favour of Adam Katz.

38. Speeches from the nominees

Lien Huynh spoke in favour of their own candidacy. Adam Katz spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

39. Question period

A 10-minute Question Period was held. Began at 10:29PM, and ended at 10:39PM

40. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. (Lien Huynh chose to appoint Cassidy Wolfe, as scrutineer. Cassidy Wolfe observed the counting of the ballots) (Adam Katz chose to appoint Rowan Hildebrand, as scrutineer. Rowan Hildebrand observed the counting of the ballots).

Lien Huynh received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Director of Procedures. Lien Huynh (51), Adam Katz (32), Void (2)

Post-Nominations/Voting

41. Motion to destroy the ballots

Motion to destroy the ballots (Lee Ramuscak/Ayanna Maxcyn Gualdrapa). Carried.

42. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting (Ethan Muise-Ebata/Clyron Elijah Hernandez). Carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:57 CST on 30 December 2024.

The above are considered to be a true and accurate recording of all items discussed. Please advise the recorder of any ambiguity, discrepancy, inconsistency, error or omission noted.

JACOB HARVEY SECRETARY 103rd Session of Youth Parliament of Manitoba Inc.