Minutes – Election Meeting for the 99th Executive

Pre-Nominations/Voting

1. Calling of the meeting to order

The meeting was called to order at 9:25 PM on 30 December 2019 by Adrienne Tessier in room 254 of the Manitoba Legislative Building at 450 Broadway in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

2. Appointment of the CEO (if necessary)

The outgoing Past Chairperson is Adrienne Tessier, and Adrienne Tessier was present; therefore Adrienne Tessier acted as the Chief Electoral Officer.

3. Appointment of the secretary

Article 13, clause 19 of the YPM By-laws reads: "The minutes of the Election Meeting shall be taken by the Chief Electoral Officer, or his or her designate." Adrienne Tessier appointed Ariel Melamedoff as their designate.

4. Declaration of proxies

No Proxies declared.

5. Motion to allow visitors

Motion to allow visitors to view proceedings (Nina Lam/Carson Fijal) carried. Adrienne reminded all visitors to not display support of any kind for any candidate. Motion is carried.

5a. Motion to declare the ballots valid for the 99th session even though they state 98th session.

Deborah Tsao/Pearson Montgomery Motion is carried

Adrienne Tessier explained the election procedures as described in YPM Inc.'s bylaws.

Election of the Chairperson (Premier)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Chairperson (Carson Fijal/Imani Pinder). Carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Abigail Theano-Pudwill (Vaibhav/Marissa Hamlin) Abigail accepted.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Chairperson (Emily Gray/Sophia A.) Carried. Election Meeting Minutes Youth Parliament of Manitoba Inc., 99th Session 30 December 2019

9. Speeches from the nominators

Vaibhav spoke in favour of Abigail Theano-Pudwill.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Abigail Theano-Pudwill spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a scrutineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Abigail Theano-Pudwill received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Chairperson.

Election of the Past Chairperson (Speaker)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Past-Chairperson (Vaibhav Varma/Sam) Carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Deborah Tsao (Marjorie Kanabee/Victor) Deborah Tsao accepted.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Past-Chairperson (Jordan/Marit) Carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

Marjorie Kanabee spoke in favour of Deborah Tsao.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Deborah Tsao spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a scrutineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Deborah received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Past-Chairperson.

Election of the Vice-Chairperson (Deputy Premier)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Vishwa/Fiona) Carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Nina Lam (El-Shaddai/Josephine). Nina Lam accepted.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Vaibhav/Kelvin) Carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

El-Shaddai spoke in favour of Nina Lam.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Nina Lam spoke in favour of their own candidacy.

11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a scrutineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Nina Lam received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Vice-Chairperson.

Election of the Director of Finances (Deputy Speaker)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Finance (Liam/Sam) Carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Marie Sutherland (Beth Graham/Hunter Passler-Bates) Marie Sutherland accepted.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Finance (Josephine/Aasiyah) Carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

Beth Graham spoke in favour of Marie Sutherland.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Marie Sutherland spoke in favour of their own candidacy

11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a scrutineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Marie Sutherland received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Director of Finances.

Election of the Director of Procedures (House Leader)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Josephine/Fiona) Carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Marshall Morrisseau (Marit/Jordan). Marshall accepted. Nomination for Jacob Harvey (Sonny/Charlise). Jacob Harvey accepted.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Carson/Sam) Carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

Marit spoke in favour of Marshall. Sonny spoke in favour of Jacob.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Jacob spoke in favour of their own candidacy Marshall spoke in favour of their own candidacy

11. Question period

A 15-minute Question Period was held.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a scrutineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Jacob Harvey received a majority of ballots and was elected Director of Procedures.

Post-Nominations/Voting

13. Motion to destroy the ballots

Motion to destroy the ballots (Deborah/Emmanuel) Carried.

14. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting (Priscilla/Maxime) Carried. The meeting was adjourned at 23:25 pm on 30 December 2019.

The above are considered to be a true and accurate recording of all items discussed. Please advise the recorder of any ambiguity, discrepancy, inconsistency, error or omission noted.

ABIGAIL THEANO-PUDWILL DEPUTY SPEAKER 98th SESSION OF YOUTH PARLIAMENT OF MANITOBA INC