Minutes - Election Meeting

Pre-Nominations/Voting

1. Calling of the meeting to order

The meeting was called to order at 10:49 PM on 30 December 2013 by Bojan Pirnat in room 254 of the Manitoba Legislative Building at 450 Broadway in Winnipeg, Manitoba. 60 members were eligible to cast votes, of which 59 were present in attendance and 1 had proxied their votes to other members.

2. Appointment of the CEO (if necessary)

The outgoing Past Chairperson is Bojan Pirnat, and Bojan Pirnat was present; therefore Bojan Pirnat acted as the Chief Electoral Officer.

3. Appointment of the secretary

Article 13, clause 19 of the YPM By-laws reads: "The minutes of the Election Meeting shall be taken by the Chief Electoral Officer, or his or her designate." Bojan Pirnat appointed Darren Haber as his designate.

4. Declaration of proxies

The following proxies were received by the CEO:

• Michael Krev proxied his vote to Adrienne Tessier (for the election of all candidates.)

5. Motion to allow visitors

Motion to allow visitors to view proceedings (Mitchell Van Ineveld/Stefanie Goldsborough) carried. Bojan Pirnat reminded all visitors to not display support of any kind for any candidate.

Election of the Chairperson (Premier)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Chairperson (Stacey Schott/Madeline Metcalfe): carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Brent Hardy (Adrienne Tessier/Ariel): Brent Hardy accepted.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Chairperson (Ryan Sherbo/Jaclyn Flom): carried.

Minutes: Election Meeting Youth Parliament of Manitoba

9. Speeches from the nominators

Adrienne Tessier spoke in favour of Brent Hardy.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Brent Hardy spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Brent Hardy received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Chairperson.

Election of the Past Chairperson (Speaker)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Past Chairperson (Joey Broda/Jessica Eblie): carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Andrew Jones (Mitchell van Ineveld/Julia Minarik): Andrew Jones accepted.

Bojan called for nominations three more times.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Past Chairperson (Beverley Fredborg/Stacey Schott): carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

Mitchell van Ineveld spoke in favour of Andrew Jones.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Andrew Jones spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Minutes: Election Meeting Youth Parliament of Manitoba

Andrew Jones received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Past Chairperson.

Election of the Vice-Chairperson (Deputy Premier)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Kady Evanyshyn/James Vnuk): carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Kamal Dhillon (Jessica Wiebe/Mitchell van Ineveld): Robby Pankhurst accepted.

Bojan Pirnat called for nominations three more times.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson (Adrienne Tessier/Ryan Sherbo): carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

Jessica Wiebe spoke in favour of Kamal Dhillon.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Kamal Dhillon spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Kamal Dhillon received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Vice-Chairperson.

Election of the Director of Finances (Deputy Speaker)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Finances (Stefanie Goldsborough/Lindsay Walker): carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Mikol Markiw (Ryan Sherbo/Alana Flom): Mikol Markiw accepted.

Nomination for $_(_/_)$: $_$ accepted.

Bojan Pirnat called for nominations three more times.

Minutes: Election Meeting Youth Parliament of Manitoba

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Finance (Lauren Marshall/Michael Bagamery): carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

Ryan Sherbo spoke in favour of Mikol Markiw.

10. Speeches from the nominees

Mikol Markiw spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

11. Question period

As only one candidate accepted a nomination, there were no questions.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Mikol Markiw received a majority of "YES" ballots and was elected Director of Finances.

Election of the Director of Procedures (House Leader)

6. Motion to open nominations

Motion to open nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Alana Flon/Mitchell van Ineveld): carried.

7. Nominations

Nomination for Joey Broda (Beverly Fredborg/Erin Schwartz): Joey Broda accepted.

Nomination for Ian Smith (Stacey Schott/Ryan Sherbo): Ian Smith accepted.

Nomination for Chris Kolmatiski (Daniel Denton/Carey Osterbeck): Chris Kolmatiski accepted.

Nomination for Justine Hesselbart (Lauren Marshall/Lindsey Walker): Justine Hesselbart accepted.

Bojan called for nominations three more times.

8. Motion to close nominations

Motion to close nominations for the position of Director of Procedures (Michael Bagamery/Stefanie Fennel): carried.

9. Speeches from the nominators

Beverly Fredborg spoke in favour of Joey Broda.

Minutes: Election Meeting Youth Parliament of Manitoba

Date: 30 December 2013 p. 4/5

Stacey Schott spoke in favour of Ian Smith.

Daniel Denton spoke in favour of Chris Kolmatiski

Lauren Marshall spoke in favour of Justine Hesselbart

10. Speeches from the nominees

Justine Hesselbart spoke in favour of her own candidacy.

Chris Kolmatiski spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

Ian Smith spoke in favour of his own candidacy.

Joey Broda spoke in favour of his own candidacy

11. Question period

Bojan Pirnat explained that all questions were to be written out, signed and submitted to the CEO for approval. Bojan Pirnat also explained that similar questions would be asked as one.

The candidates were asked 4 questions, each replying in turn with no more than 2 minutes to answer.

12. Voting

The ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. No candidate chose to have a sructineer monitor the tallying of the ballots.

Joey Broda received a majority of support on the first round of counting and was elected Director of Procedures. They all declined to have a recount.

Post-Nominations/Voting

13. Motion to destroy the ballots

Motion to destroy the ballots (Andrew Jones/Jacques de Moissac): carried.

14. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting (James Vnuk/Andrew Jones): carried. The meeting was adjourned at 12:48am (on 31 December 2013.)

The above are considered to be a true and accurate recording of all items discussed. Please advise the recorder of any ambiguity, discrepancy, inconsistency, error or omission noted.

Minutes: Election Meeting Youth Parliament of Manitoba

p. 5/5