Board and Cabinet

The Executive

Youth Parliament of Manitoba Inc. is governed by a five-person board of directors, also known as the Executive. Each person is elected for a one-year term by the membership on the last day of Session. All directors are volunteers between the ages of 18 and 25.

The Executive is responsible for the administrative maintenance of YPM, such as renewing its charitable and corporation status, managing the endowment fund, running the website, and so on. There is no overhead supervision external to YPM’s board.

Premier – Xiao Zhang

Xiao first joined YPM as the member from La Prairie in the 98th Session. He joined Cabinet in the 99th Session as the Minister of Supply and Service, and then presented the Online Video Game Regulation Act as the Minister of Revenue in the 100th Session.

Xiao graduated from Westgate Mennonite Collegiate and is currently studying Computer Science and Biochemistry at the University of Winnipeg. He has a passion for scientific research and hopes to incorporate modern technology into the healthcare