Teacher Appreciation Award!


Since 2007 the executive board of the Youth Parliament of Manitoba has chosen a Manitoban educator as a recipient of our Teacher Appreciation Award. This award is meant to recognize the support of a teacher who has gone above and beyond to promote our organization to their students and encourage them to learn about Canadian democracy and the parliamentary process. For more information on how to connect with our organization, as well as a list of past award recipients, please visit our website at http://www.ypmanitoba.ca/register/teachers/ .

This year we are pleased to announce Linda Connor as the 2014 TAA recipient. After teaching Social Studies and English Language Arts for more than 3 decades at Gray Academy in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Linda Connor has been seconded to take on the role as the Social Studies Curriculum Consultant for Manitoba Education. In addition to co-authoring the newly approved Grade 11 Canadian History textbook, Shaping Canada, Linda was also privileged to contribute to the Grade 7 Social Studies textbook, The World Today (Portage and Main Press) and the Grade 9 civics textbook, Canada in the Contemporary World (Emond Montgomery Press). Linda has been on the Manitoba Social Studies Steering Committee and curriculum development teams for the Grade 7, 9 and 11 Social Studies.

Linda is also the current editor of MSSTA journal (see www.mssta.mb.ca) for Manitoba Social Studies teachers. Presently, Linda is co-chairing a pilot team for Manitoba’s new Grade 12 course, Global Issues: Citizenship and Sustainability. Linda holds a Bachelor of Education (double major- English and History), Bachelor of Arts, as well as a Post-Baccalaureate from the University of Manitoba. In her “spare” time, Linda is both a proud wife, and a mother of 3 sons, is a member of the “Hot Splashes” Dragon Boat team and performs with “Women of Note”. Linda also volunteers for The Dream Factory (www.thedreamfactory.ca) which helps makes dreams come true for children with life-threatening illnesses. View the full link here: Teacher Appreciation Award AnnouncementScreen Shot 2014-10-22 at 2.32.19 PM

YPM Attends Meet Me at the Bell Tower!


Youth Parliament of Manitoba is excited to announce a newly established recruitment partnership with YPM alumnus Michael Champagne and Aboriginal Youth Opportunities (AYO)! AYO is a volunteer-based organization that empowers young people in Winnipeg’s North End by connecting them with leadership opportunities and listening to their ideas. Members of YPM’s cabinet came to the weekly Selkirk Ave nonviolence assembly, Meet Me at the Bell Tower, to introduce YPM to the participants and discuss how the two organizations can help give aboriginal youth the chance to help shape the future of our country.


The following day at Neechi Commons, Kamal Dhillon (Vice-Chairperson) and Adrienne Tessier (Registrar General) met with Michael once again, as well as members of AYO’s Politix Brainstorm. Discussion ranged from the nature of grassroots involvements to giving youth a voice in politics.


More information about AYO can be found here: http://www.ayomovement.com/

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 3.39.46 PM

Thanksgiving Flash Sale!


Youth Parliament of Manitoba will be having a Thanksgiving Flash Sale starting at 12:01am on Monday, October 13th and ending at 11:59pm! Enter the promo code gobblegobble and you will receive an additional $15 off the early bird price, which brings the registration cost to only $95. Go online to www.ypmanitoba.ca to register for the 93rd Winter Session!Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 7.28.14 PM

Association of Former Members Newsletter Published!


The third edition of the Youth Parliamentarian, the YPM Alumni and Community Newsletter, was published on September 30, 2014. It included alumni news, history from the YPM archives, and highlights and pictures from the 7th annual Speaker’s Night and the annual Cabinet Retreat.

Read the full newsletter HERE and subscribe to the emailing list for future newsletters HERE.

Sponsor-a-Member Now Available on Eventbrite!


YPM is now offering a “Sponsor-a-Member” option on Eventbrite! This option is available to anyone who would like to donate the amount of money required to cover part of, or the full cost of registration for an individual who would otherwise be unable to attend session. Sponsor-a-Member tickets will be made available on a first-come-first-serve basis to potential members who declare the need for financial assistance. Donors may indicate on the order form if they would like to sponsor an individual in particular. Please visit www.ypmanitoba.ca to donate!

If you have any further questions, feel free to contact the Deputy Premier, Kamal Dhillon for more information!Screen Shot 2014-10-01 at 9.08.08 PM

Registration Opens Today!


Registration for the Winter Session of Youth Parliament of Manitoba opens today! Go online to www.ypmanitoba.ca to register!


Registration Opens Tomorrow!


legRegistration for the 93rd Winter Session of the Youth Parliament of Manitoba will open tomorrow! Go online to www.ypmanitoba.ca to find more information and register.


Yet Another Successful Cabinet Retreat!


The weekend of August 8th to 10th the Cabinet and Executive of the 93rd Winter Session of Youth Parliament of Manitoba gathered together at Rock Lake United Church Camp to begin our cabinet retreat for this year. Our cabinet discussed recruitment strategies, formulated ideas about the positive aspects that YPM offers to youth and ways to make this year’s session as successful as possible. We would like to thank Rock Lake United Church Camp for providing us with the location to hold yet another cabinet retreat, it is greatly appreciated. Cabinet and Executive will be very busy in the next few months planning and preparing for our event in December and are very much looking forward to connecting with new members and alumni at YPM’s 93rd Winter Session!

Patricia Chaychuk Named 93rd Honourary President


The Board of Directors of Youth Parliament of Manitoba (YPM) is pleased to announce that Patricia Chaychuk has once again accepted the position as the Honorary President for the 93rd Winter Session of YPM.

Chaychuk was appointed the first female Clerk of the Legislative Assembly in 2000. Within YPM, she was the Premier of the 64th Session, Lieutenant-Governor of the 80th Session and the Alumni Achievement Award winner in 2004.

Speaker’s Night a Smashing Success!


Last night’s event went as smoothly as one could hope. We would like to thank all of those who joined us for Speaker’s Night 2014 presented by the Winnipeg Free Press or offered their support in other ways. Of course a big thank you goes all of those who helped to make the event a reality either by planning or participating in the proceedings. We would especially like to thank Patricia Chaychuk  for running the event smoothly as our Master of Ceremonies and Sylvia Kuzyk who delivered an excellent keynote address which all the attendees are sure to remember for some time. A successful event helps Youth Parliament of Manitoba maintain and expand in the pursuit of our mandate to foster amongst the youth of Manitoba an understanding of, an interest in, and an engagement with the Canadian democratic parliamentary process and, in so doing, to encourage the growth of the individual and their abilities. We are grateful to all of those joined in making an excellent event this year and look forward to beginning preparations for the 93rd Winter Session!

Go to Top