Month: January 2015

United Way Profiles Youth Parliament

The United Way of Winnipeg teamed up with the International Institute of Sustainable Development to develop a community indicators website called Peg. This site gathers data about Winnipeg, falling under a number of different indicators.

The Youth Parliament of Manitoba was featured in the Political Voice indicator. Our Deputy Premier, Kamal Dhillon, was interviewed in a video presentation about the Youth Parliament of Manitoba’s role in promoting responsible governance.

Watch the video here!

YPM Presents Speaker’s Night 2015

After last year’s successful event we are very excited to announce the details for the 2015 installment of our annual fundraising dinner, Speaker’s Night:

Keynote Speaker: Wab Kinew
Master of Ceremonies: Sachit Mehra

Date: Thursday, May 7, 2015

Location: Winnipeg Winter Club

Cocktails: 5:30 pm
Dinner: 7:00 pm

Tickets: $100

Please visit for more information on our keynote/MC, sponsor-a-member-option and the link to buy tickets.

We look forward to another fantastic evening for all those who can join us on May 7!

New Executive for 94th Winter Session Elected


The final task for members of the 93rd Winter Session of the Youth Parliament of Manitoba was to elect the executive team for the 94th Session.

The results were:

Speaker (Past Chairperson): Brent Hardy
Premier (Chairperson): Kamal Dhillon
Deputy Premier (Vice-Chairperson): Joseph Broda
Deputy Speaker (Director of Finance): Ariel Melamedoff
House Leader (Director of Procedures): Ryan Sherbo

Congratulations to the new executive, and we look forward to another fantastic year!

The Last Day of the 93rd Winter Session

The 93rd annual Youth Parliament of Manitoba Winter Session came to a close December 30, 2014. It was a fantastic session that left all members feeling like they had found a new family, as many executive members mentioned in their closing speeches.

The quality of discourse in the house this year was particularly notable. Debates were extremely lively, and upon hearing “members wishing to speak” from our Speaker, Andrew Jones, backbenchers and cabinet alike jumped out of their seats.

Credit must also be given to the skill of the bill presenting Ministers this year, as all six pieces of legislation were passed.

If you would like to see more details about this session, please see our Twitter and Instagram pages.