Month: December 2015

Nay or Yay? That is the Question…

Today in session, we voted on four pieces of legislation: the Welfare and Wage Reform Act, the Sexual Education Act, the Police Reform and Social accountability, and the Justice Employment Reform Act.

We would like to commend all members who participated in debate. After careful deliberation, our government voted to pass all four! Congratulations to our minister of Labour, Revenue, Registrar General as well as minister of Human Resources for the tireless work put into their bills.

Whips performed amazing musical renditions of each bill. Everyone appreciated the harmonious notes of support!

Lunch today was provided by the NDP, who also thoughtfully answered several topical questions from our members. We extend our thanks to Premier Greg Selinger, and other caucus representatives who volunteered their time to come speak with us.

Annual Bear Pit a Roaring Success

This year’s Bear Pit was much enjoyed by our members, as well as our four bears:

Judy Smith (PC MLA 1999-2003, Conservative MP 2004-2015)
Judy Wasylycia-Leis (NDP MLA 1986-1993, NDP MP 1997-2010)
Jerry Storie (NDP MLA 1981-1995)
Herold Driedger (Liberal MLA 1988-1990)

They took questions from our members regarding the legislation we’re currently debating, as well as questions about their experiences as former MLAs and MPs. It was a fun, engaging, (mostly!) nonpartisan discussion. This event was followed by a much-enjoyed reception in which we got to chat with the bears further.

Justice, Sex Ed, Health, and Police Reform all Leading up to DOOM?

Today in the house we proceeded with the second readings of the Justice Employment Reform Act, the Healthy Society Act, the Sexual Education Act, and the Police Reform Act. Debate on the bills proved contentious, but was brightened by witty rhetoric!

Highlights from the debates included whether or not to expand the reach of the Sexual Education Act to high schools or varying public, the issue of state-sponsored lawyers working against the state, debate as to whether thirteen is an appropriate age for the responsibility of choice concerning medical care, as well as the fostering of the “Blue Wall” through legislation.

However, to end off our day we were graced by the Private Members Bill, aka the “Ol’ Switcheroo Act.” This extremely controversial and suprisingly hilarious piece of legislation included the ever so clever acronym ‘DOOM’. (Special thanks to backbenchers who stayed up all night to help write it!)

Tomorrow, we look forward to our annual Bear Pit with a plethora of riveting questions and debate!

Session kicks off with Smudging and Pipe Ceremony

The Youth Parliament of Manitoba has been held for the past 94 years, with each year bringing something new. This year, we have implemented an exciting new addition to our usual opening ceremonies! Chief White Spotted Horse of the Anishinaabe First Nation led us in a smudging and pipe ceremony to recognize the Treaty 1 territory upon which the Legislative Building was built. It was a tremendously powerful and educational experience, and we look forward to continuing this new tradition into the future.

Teacher Appreciation Award 2015

Youth Parliament of Manitoba loves the teachers in this province. Since 2007, the executive board of the Youth Parliament of Manitoba has chosen a Manitoban educator as a recipient of our Teacher Appreciation Award. This award is meant to recognize the support of a teacher who has gone above and beyond to promote our organization to their students and to encourage them to learn about Canadian democracy and the parliamentary process.

This year, YPM is pleased to announce Mr. Mark Walterson from Lord Selkirk Regional Comprehensive School as the recipient of this award. Mark Walterson has been teaching at Lord Selkirk Regional Comprehensive School (LSRCSS) since 2004. Mark is a Social Studies teacher by trade with Geography as his major and History as his minor. Mark recieved his Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Education degrees from the University of Manitoba. He has been the teacher supervisor for the LSRCSS Youth Parliament since 2009. His goal since taking over the LSRCSS Youth Parliament has been to foster the students’ desire to be aware of current issues facing government in a political environment. This has been accomplished through weekly meetings culminating with the LSRCSS Youth Parliament session. “The students come well prepared as many of the members have participated in the strong Junior Parliament program in Junior High”, Mark said. He also believes that the Youth Parliament group has been fortunate to get funding from the highschool’s student council to help with the cost of registration for members to participate in the Youth Parliament of Manitoba’s session. Mark hopes that there will be a continued connection between the LSRCSS Youth Parliament and the Youth Parliament of Manitoba.

Walterson 2015-11

94th Session Honourary President and Lieutenant-Governor

YPM is proud to announce Patricia Chaychuk, clerk of the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba, as our Honourary President. This will be Ms. Chaychuk’s third consecutive year serving as our Honourary President.

Patricia was appointed as Clerk of the Manitoba Legislative Assembly on January 10, 2000, and is the first woman to hold this position.

She previously served as Clerk Assistant/Clerk of Committees with the Manitoba Legislature from 1989 to January 2000.  In addition, she worked at the Table Research Branch of the Canadian House of Commons from September 1992 to August 1993 on a training secondment.  She is also a former Manitoba Legislative Intern as well as a former Premier and Speaker of the Manitoba Youth Parliament.

Patricia is a past President of the Association of Clerks-at-the-Table in Canada and is also a past President for the Canadian Study o
f Parliament Group.  She currently serves as Chair of the Editorial Board of The Canadian Parliamentary Review, and is a member of the Society of Clerks-at-the-Table in Commonwealth Parliaments.  She is also the Honorary President for the Youth Parliament of Manitoba and volunteers with the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra.  She is an avid Winnipeg Jets fan.

Her education includes a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Economics from the University of Winnipeg, and MPA and MBA degrees, both from the University of Manitoba.


We are equally pleased to announce Clif Evans, former Member of the Legislative Assembly, as our Lieutenant-Governor.

Clifford Brian Evans was born on May 16th, 1948.  Raised in Transcona, he attended elementary school in Transcona and high school at Murdoch MacKay Collegiate. After attending the University of North Dakota and the University of Manitoba, he worked in oil and chemical refineries before moving to the hotel industry, purchasing his first hotel in Killarney in 1983.

His involvement in politics began when he was approached to run as the mayor of Riverton, where he had purchased a hotel in 1987. He won the municipal election in October, 1989. In 1990, by the urging of the outgoing MLA, he ran with the New Democratic Party in the Interlake. He won two consecutive elections in 1990 and 1995.

He stepped down from politics due to health reasons, and worked with the provincial government from 2001 to 2012. During this time, he worked with several other former MLAs to found the Association of Former Members of the Manitoba Legislative Assembly, serving as Secretary from 2001 to the present. He also acts as chair of the Youth Parliament Committee, working with YPM since 2004 and helping to organize the annual Bear Pit Session and Reception since 2005.

Clif has been married to Linda for 43 years. They have two children, Tyler and Kelsey, who live in Winnipeg.

Clif Evans