Western Canada Youth Parliament

In addition to Winter Session, members of YPM also have the unique and extraordinary opportunity to participate in the biennial Western Canada Youth Parliament a joint session with all four YPs in Western Canada:

Delegates from the 18th Western Canada Youth Parliament, held in Winnipeg in 2018.


YPM designed the logo below when it hosted the 14th Western Canada Youth Parliament. The logo symbolizes the four western provinces that come together every two years for WCYP. It was recommended for adoption for future WCYP sessions in a resolution passed by participants of the 14th WCYP. A vector version of the logo can be downloaded here.


In 1981, YPM (then known as Youth Parliament of Manitoba and Northwestern Ontario) organized the first WCYP as a project to commemorate our 60th anniversary. This marked the first occasion where representatives from all four YPs in Western Canada attended (although BCYP did not officially endorse its participation).

The first WCYP in which all four YPs officially participated was at the Alberta Legislature in 1983.

Past Sessions

SessionYearProvinceCityLieutenant GovernorSpeakerPremier
11983ABEdmonton?David MarriottThomas Marr
21985MBWinnipegLloyd Axworthy?Erminia Pallone
31987BCVictoriaEmery BarnesRobert MacDonaldGeoff Glave
41989SKReginaArnold TusaKen MillardScott Quendack
61993MBWinnipegEdward SchreyerDavid CantorSherri Pierce
71996BCBurnabyGordon DowningGeoff GlaveJennifer Jay
81998SKReginaJack WiebeMichael ZwaagstraTricia Kaminski
92000ABEdmontonDavid MarriottDale HarrisAli Buckingham
102002MBWinnipegStuart OlmsteadDonna ChanasMichael Feuerstein
112004BCVancouverVal AndersonAniz AlaniSwithin D'Souza
122006SKReginaWarren McCallMatt LeisleArielle Zerr
132008ABEdmontonGrant MitchellMat JohnsonMaureen Hasinoff
142010MBWinnipegAllen MillsDana GregoireDarcy Vermeulen
152012BCVancouverJenn JayGavin HoekstraJenelle Yonkman
162014SKReginaRalph GoodaleNolan BlackstockJoseph Chiliak
172016ABEdmontonDanielle LariveeKatie KellySeth Burnard
182018MBWinnipegDorothy DobbieJennifer PawlukAdrienne Tessier