Teacher Appreciation Award 2015

Youth Parliament of Manitoba loves the teachers in this province. Since 2007, the executive board of the Youth Parliament of Manitoba has chosen a Manitoban educator as a recipient of our Teacher Appreciation Award. This award is meant to recognize the support of a teacher who has gone above and beyond to promote our organization to their students and to encourage them to learn about Canadian democracy and the parliamentary process.

This year, YPM is pleased to announce Mr. Mark Walterson from Lord Selkirk Regional Comprehensive School as the recipient of this award. Mark Walterson has been teaching at Lord Selkirk Regional Comprehensive School (LSRCSS) since 2004. Mark is a Social Studies teacher by trade with Geography as his major and History as his minor. Mark recieved his Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Education degrees from the University of Manitoba. He has been the teacher supervisor for the LSRCSS Youth Parliament since 2009. His goal since taking over the LSRCSS Youth Parliament has been to foster the students’ desire to be aware of current issues facing government in a political environment. This has been accomplished through weekly meetings culminating with the LSRCSS Youth Parliament session. “The students come well prepared as many of the members have participated in the strong Junior Parliament program in Junior High”, Mark said. He also believes that the Youth Parliament group has been fortunate to get funding from the highschool’s student council to help with the cost of registration for members to participate in the Youth Parliament of Manitoba’s session. Mark hopes that there will be a continued connection between the LSRCSS Youth Parliament and the Youth Parliament of Manitoba.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *