AFMMLA To Host Annual YPM Bear Pit

Past parliamentarians, including Youth Parliament’s former Honorary President Hon. Bill Blaikie will participate in a panel discussion in the legislative assembly on Saturday night. The other panelists are Jim Downey and Harold Taylor. Additionally, Darren Haber, last year’s Speaker of YPM, will be inducted into the Senate.

Hosted by the Association of Former Manitoba Members of the Legislative Assembly (AFMMLA), the annual Bear Pit is an opportunity for Manitoba youth to interact with former leaders and become more acquainted with the parliamentary process.

During the day, members will have the chance to debate the Prison Abolishment Act. This bill aims to reduce the stigma associated with incarceration, emphasizing rehabilitation, and offering supports to prisoners in order to achieve this goal.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *