A Speaker’s Night true to its name!

This year’s Speaker’s Night, which took place on June 7th, 2012 was one to remember. True to its name, five “Speakers” were in attendance for YPM’s 5th Annual Speaker’s Night: Former House of Commons Deputy Speaker Bill Blaikie, Former House of Commons Speaker Peter Milliken, Speaker of the Manitoba Legislative Assembly Daryl Reid, YPM Deputy Speaker Brent Hardy and YPM Speaker Darren Haber.

The night featured a keynote address by former Canadian MP and Manitoba MLA Bill Blaikie, also a YPM alumnus and our current Honourary President. YPM also had the tremendous honour of hearing from Former House of Commons Speaker Peter Milliken, the longest-serving speaker in Canadian House of Commons history. We were also honoured to have numerous Manitoba MLAs in attendance to support the organization and its mission.

The Youth Parliament of Manitoba Executive would like to thank the alumni, members, parents, MLAs, dignitaries, friends and supporters who came out and made Speaker’s Night a success. We would also like to thank YPM alumni Michael Urban (79th to 85th), Dana Gregoire (79th to 86th), Sachin Kumar (81st to 83rd) José Castillo Pilcol (84th), Jennifer Pawluk (82nd to 89th) and others who donated to the evening despite not being able to attend.

A full collection of photos from the event can be found on our Speaker’s Night page, and on our Facebook page.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *